I’m an entrepreneur. Is it worth taking out management insurance for me and our management team?

Many businesses underestimate the importance of management insurance. However, it is a major advantage particularly in the competition for experts. A good 2nd pillar pension solution is attractive for both managers and entrepreneurs.

Excellent managers and experts are vital for corporate success. These “key employees” form the company’s backbone and are hard to replace. Those capable of positioning themselves in the market as an attractive employer enjoy a competitive advantage in the struggle against the shortage of skills. Occupational provisions offer entrepreneurs strong arguments via management insurance to attract the crème de la crème, for those with high incomes also wish to be well insured. However, many pension funds still do not sufficiently exploit the legal opportunities for benefit improvements and enhancements in tax planning. Management insurance offers attractive advantages not only for the insured employees but also for you as an entrepreneur.

 

original

Impending funding gap

Every company is obliged to insure employees earning in excess of CHF 21 150 per year against the risks of death, disability and old age. Salaries above CHF 84 600 can be insured voluntarily (so-called supplementary benefits). Without additional insurance of the income exceeding this amount, the management and you yourself will be massively worse off in old age than during your working lives, with a funding shortfall of 40 percent and more. A well-developed pension plan will enable you as the company’s proprietor to transfer corporate profits in a tax-efficient manner to your private assets, albeit tied until retirement.

Higher savings contributions by the employer

As the employer, you are obliged to contribute at least half the contributions to the 2nd pillar (pension fund). In the competition for experts, it can also be a decisive advantage for SMEs with up to 50 employees to assume more than half the pension fund contributions as employer, as it is not just the salary and potential bonuses that serve as important financial incentives. Employees also perceive additional higher contributions to pension provision as important fringe benefits. Almost a third of all companies with ten to 250 employees make use of this opportunity and contribute beyond the prescribed share to pension fund contributions. 

Voluntary higher savings contributions by the insured

The prerequisite for supplementary insurance is that the conditions for a whole management level are based on standard, objective criteria. It can be particularly attractive for members of management to make voluntary higher savings contributions. You can establish up to three different optional savings plans for this in your employee benefits unit. Your management will then have the opportunity, for instance, of contributing 12, 14 or even 16 percent of their insured salary in a tax-efficient manner to the pension fund and at the same time improving their retirement benefits.

Selectable investment strategy

It is also possible to pursue investment strategies offering higher returns in the 2nd pillar. Salary components in excess of CHF 126 900 may be individually invested by the insured within a maximum of ten defined investment strategies. Inquire with your employee benefits institution as to whether such “1e plans” are available within the framework of a company-specific solution.

Different final age for management insurance

If the final or retirement age is set earlier in management insurance than in “basic provisions”, depending on the canton of residence the insured person can also prevent progressive tax when withdrawing retirement assets as a lump sum – a further advantage of management insurance.

×

Ich bin Unternehmer. Lohnt sich eine Kaderversicherung für mich und unser Führungsteam?

Viele Unternehmen unterschätzen die Bedeutung der Kaderversicherung. Dabei ist sie gerade im Kampf um Fachkräfte ein grosser Vorteil. Eine gute Vorsorgelösung der 2. Säule ist sowohl für Kader als auch für Unternehmer attraktiv.

Exzellente Kader und Fachkräfte sind unabdingbar für den Unternehmenser­folg. Diese «Schlüsselmitarbeitenden» bilden das Rückgrat der Firma und sind nur schwer ersetzbar. Wer sich im Markt als attraktiver Arbeitgeber positionieren kann, hat im Kampf gegen den Fachkräf­temangel einen Wettbewerbsvorteil. Die berufliche Vorsorge bietet Unterneh­mern über die Kaderversicherung ge­wichtige Argumente, um die Besten für sich zu gewinnen. Denn: Wer ein hohes Einkommen erzielt, will auch gut ver­sichert sein. Viele Pensionskassen schöp­fen die gesetzlichen Möglichkeiten für Leistungsverbesserungen und Optimie­rungen in der Steuerplanung aber noch zu wenig aus. Eine Kaderversicherung bietet nicht nur für die versicherten Angestellten attraktive Vorteile, sondern auch für Sie als Unternehmer.

original

Drohende Finanzierungslücke

Jedes Unternehmen ist verpflichtet, die Mitarbeitenden ab einem Einkommen von 21 150 Franken pro Jahr für die Risiken Tod und Invalidität sowie für die Pensionierung zu versichern. Löhne über 84 600 Franken können freiwillig versichert werden (sog. Überobligatorium). Ohne zusätzliche Versicherung des darüber hinausgehenden Einkom­mens sind die Kader und Sie selbst im Alter mit einer Finanzierungslücke von 40 und mehr Prozent massiv schlechter gestellt als während der Erwerbsphase. Als Eigentümer des Unternehmens kön­nen Sie mit einem gut ausgebauten Vor­sorgeplan Unternehmensgewinne steuer­günstig in Ihr privates – wenn auch bis zur Pensionierung noch gebundenes – Privatvermögen überführen.

Höhere Sparbeiträge durch den Arbeitgeber

Sie als Arbeitgeber sind im Rahmen der 2. Säule (Pensionskasse) verpflichtet, sich mindestens hälftig an den Beiträgen zu beteiligen. Im Kampf um Fachkräfte kann es auch für KMU mit bis zu 50 An­gestellten ein entscheidender Vorteil sein, als Arbeitgeber mehr als die Hälfte der Pensionskassenbeiträge zu überneh­men. Denn nicht nur Lohn und allfällige Boni sind wichtige finanzielle Anreize. Die Angestellten nehmen zusätzliche höhere Beiträge in die Altersvorsorge als wichtige Lohnnebenleistungen wahr. Knapp ein Drittel aller Firmen mit der Grösse von 10 bis 250 Mitarbeitenden nutzt diese Möglichkeit und beteiligt sich über den vorgeschriebenen Anteil hinaus an den Beiträgen für die Pensionskasse.

Freiwillig höhere Sparbeiträge durch die Versicherten

Voraussetzung für eine Zusatzversi­cherung ist, dass die Bedingungen für eine ganze Kaderstufe nach objektiven Grundsätzen einheitlich sind. Für Ka­derangestellte kann es speziell interessant sein, freiwillig höhere Sparbeiträge zu leisten. Dazu können Sie in Ihrem Vorsorgewerk bis zu drei verschiedene Wahlsparpläne einrichten. Ihre Kader haben dann die Möglichkeit, zum Bei­spiel 12, 14 oder gar 16 Prozent ihres versicherten Lohnes steuergünstig in die Pensionskasse einzubringen und gleichzeitig die Leistungen in der Vorsor­geplanung zu verbessern.

Wählbare Anlagestrategie

Es ist zudem möglich, in der 2. Säule ren­diteträchtigere Anlagestrategien zu ver­folgen. Lohnbestandteile über 126 900 Franken dürfen innerhalb von maximal zehn definierten Anlagestrategien indivi­duell durch die Versicherten angelegt werden. Erkundigen Sie sich bei Ihrer Vorsorgeeinrichtung, ob solche soge­nannte «1e­-Pläne» im Rahmen einer  unternehmensspezifischen Lösung an­geboten werden.

Anderes Schlussalter bei der Kaderversicherung

Wird das Schluss­ respektive Pensionie­rungsalter in der Kaderversicherung  früher definiert als in der «Basisvorsorge», kann der Versicherte bei einem Kapitalbezug der Altersleistungen ab­hängig vom Wohnkanton zudem die Steuerprogression brechen – ein weiterer Pluspunkt der Kaderversicherung.

×