How can I retain my key employees?

Various factors contribute towards retaining important employees within the company, such as an appropriate salary, a good working climate and an interesting job. However, good occupational provisions also enhance your attractiveness as an employer.

original

Retaining talented and skilled employees is a fundamental requirement for businesses – particularly when they occupy management or key positions. Various factors contribute towards strong employee retention, including the working climate and corporate culture, good conditions of employment, development opportunities and flexibility. However, a company is also constantly exposed to comparison with the competition and ought to remain mindful of benchmarking to remain attractive for its employees. Good occupational provisions serve to show that you as entrepreneur assume your social responsibility and provide for your employees. Various options are open to you here.

BVG contributions

The law requires you as employer to pay in at least the same amount to the pension fund as your employees. However, you are free to assume a higher contribution provided to the employees as a fringe benefit. A third of SMEs makes use of this opportunity.

Management insurance

Excellent managers and experts are vital for corporate success. These “key employees” form the company’s backbone and are hard to replace. Those capable of positioning themselves in the market as an attractive employer enjoy a competitive advantage in the struggle against the shortage of skills. Occupational provisions offer entrepreneurs strong arguments via management insurance to attract the crème de la crème, for those with high incomes also wish to be well insured. However, although you as entrepreneur are obliged to insure your employees earning in excess of CHF 21 150 per year against the risks of death, disability and old age, this obligation only applies to salaries and salary components up to CHF 84 600. Everything exceeding this has to be insured voluntarily and additionally (so-called supplementary benefits). And it’s worth doing this as without additional insurance of the income exceeding this amount, your management and you yourself will be massively worse off in old age than during your working lives, with a funding gap of 40 percent and more. The prerequisite for supplementary insurance is that the conditions for a whole management level are based on standard, objective criteria. It can be particularly attractive for members of management to make voluntary higher savings contributions. You can establish up to three different optional savings plans for this in your employee benefits unit. Your management will then have the opportunity, for instance, of contributing 12, 14 or even 16 percent of their insured salary in a tax-efficient manner to the pension fund and at the same time improving their retirement benefits.

Selection of pension fund

Both the possible pension models and the benefits of the different pension funds vary greatly. Although full insurance generally entails somewhat higher administrative costs, you (and your employees) will be erring on the safe side as there will never be a shortfall and your employees will not under any circumstances be required to make restructuring contributions. Your advisor would be happy to explain to you the advantages of the different models in a personal consultation to facilitate your choice.

Flexible retirement

Flexible solutions regarding retirement are also attractive for employees. This applies on the one hand to the opportunities offered by you as employer for early retirement, phased retirement, partial retirement and postponement of retirement, while at the same time the provisions of the pension funds regarding the withdrawal of retirement savings vary in their flexibility: according to the law, insured persons are allowed to withdraw at least 25 percent as a lump sum. However, many funds go further or even allow the entire savings to be withdrawn.

Additional articles

×

Wie kann ich meine Schlüsselmitarbeitenden binden?

Verschiedene Faktoren tragen dazu bei, wichtige Mitarbeitende im Unternehmen zu halten: Ein angemessener Lohn, ein gutes Arbeitsklima, eine spannende Aufgabe. Aber auch gute Bedingungen bei der Vorsorge steigern Ihre Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber.

original

Talentierte und qualifizierte Angestellte zu halten, ist zentral für ein Unternehmen – insbesondere, wenn diese Führungs- oder Schlüsselpositionen innehaben. Verschiedene Faktoren tragen zu einer starken Bindung der Mitarbeitenden bei: Arbeitsklima und Unternehmenskultur, gute Anstellungsbedingungen, Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten und Flexibilität. Dabei steht ein Unternehmen immer auch im Konkurrenzvergleich und tut gut daran, das Benchmarking nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren, um für seine Mitarbeitenden attraktiv zu bleiben. Gute Bedingungen bei der Vorsorge sind Ausdruck davon, dass Sie als Unternehmer Ihre soziale Verantwortung wahrnehmen und sich um Ihre Mitarbeitenden sorgen. Sie haben dabei verschiedene Möglichkeiten.

BVG-Beiträge

Gesetzlich müssen Sie als Arbeitgeber mindestens gleich viel einzahlen in die Pensionskasse wie Ihre Mitarbeitenden. Es steht Ihnen aber frei, einen höheren Beitrag zu übernehmen, der den Mit-arbeitenden als Lohnnebenleistung zugute kommt. Ein Drittel der KMU nutzt diese Möglichkeit.

Weitere Artikel

Weitere Informationen

Kaderversicherung

Exzellente Kader und Fachkräfte sind unabdingbar für den Unternehmenserfolg. Diese «Schlüsselmitarbeitenden» bilden das Rückgrat der Firma und sind nur schwer ersetzbar. Wer sich im Markt als attraktiver Arbeitgeber positionieren kann, hat im Kampf gegen den Fachkräftemangel einen Wettbewerbsvorteil. Die berufliche Vorsorge bietet Unternehmern über die Kaderversicherung gewichtige Argumente, um die Besten für sich zu gewinnen. Denn: Wer ein hohes Einkommen erzielt, will auch gut versichert sein. Aber: Zwar sind Sie als Unternehmer verpflichtet, Ihre Mitarbeitenden ab einem Einkommen von 21 150 Franken pro Jahr für die Risiken Tod und Invalidität sowie für die Pensionierung zu versichern. Diese Pflicht gilt aber nur für Löhne oder Lohnbestandteile bis 84 600 Franken. Was darüber liegt, müssen Sie freiwillig bzw. zusätzlich versichern (sog. Überobligatorium). Und das lohnt sich: Denn ohne zusätzliche Versicherung des darüber hinausgehenden Einkommens sind Ihre Kader und Sie selbst im Alter mit einer Finanzierungslücke von 40 und mehr Prozent massiv schlechter gestellt als während der Erwerbsphase. Voraussetzung für eine Zusatzversicherung ist, dass die Bedingungen für eine ganze Kaderstufe nach objektiven Grundsätzen einheitlich sind. Für Kaderangestellte kann es speziell interessant sein, freiwillig höhere Sparbeiträge zu leisten. Dazu können Sie in ihrem Vorsorgewerk bis zu drei verschiedene Wahlsparpläne einrichten. Ihre Kader haben dann die Möglichkeit, zum Bei-spiel 12, 14 oder gar 16 Prozent ihres versicherten Lohnes steuergünstig in die Pensionskasse einzubringen und gleichzeitig die Leistungen in der Vorsorgeplanung zu verbessern.

Wahl der Pensionskasse

Die möglichen Vorsorgemodelle und auch die Leistungen der verschiedenen Pensionskassen unterscheiden sich stark. Für eine Vollversicherung müssen Sie zwar tendenziell mit etwas höheren Verwaltungskosten rechnen, Sie (und Ihre Mitarbeitenden) bewegen sich aber auf der sicheren Seite. Denn es kann gar nie zu einer Unterdeckung kommen und von den Mitarbeitenden können unter keinen Umständen Sanierungsbeiträge verlangt werden. Ihr Berater kann Ihnen im persönlichen Gespräch die Vorteile der verschiedenen Modelle aufzeigen und Ihnen die Wahl erleichtern.

Flexibilität bei der Pensionierung

Auch flexible Lösungen im Hinblick auf die Pensionierung sind für Mitarbeitende attraktiv. Das betrifft einerseits die Möglichkeiten, die Sie als Arbeitgeber für Frühpensionierung, gleitende Pensionierung, Teilpensionierung oder einen Aufschub der Pensionierung eine Lösung bieten. Andererseits sind die Regelungen der Pensionskassen unterschiedlich flexibel, wenn es um den Bezug des Altersguthabens geht: Gemäss Gesetz dürfen Versicherte mindestens 25 Prozent als Kapital beziehen. Viele Kassen gehen aber weiter oder erlauben den Bezug des gesamten Guthabens.

×